Skills Certificate, Early Childhood Educator 1

Program Description

The Skills Certificate, Early Childhood Educator 1 includes nine units in early childhood education. The courses are also required for the early childhood education AA and AAS degrees. The certificate is one of a series of four, stackable skills certificates available in early childhood education. Students may earn the skills certificates as they progress toward an AA/AAS degree in early childhood education, or as professional development certifications for non-degree seeking students.

This program is not eligible for financial aid. However, it may be eligible for scholarship funding if the student is awarded scholarships.

Recommended Course Schedule

Plan of Study Grid
1st semesterUnits
ECE 204 Principles of Child Guidance 3
ECE 250 Introduction to Early Childhood Education 3
 Semester Total6
2nd semester
HDFS 201 Lifespan Human Development 3
 Semester Total3
 Total Units9

Skills Certificates provide training for entry level positions or career advancement and are designed to prepare students to take state, national and/or industry-recognized certifications or licensing exams. Skills certificates are awarded upon completion of coursework and marked on a student's transcripts at the end of the semester (Student are unable to declare intent to complete a skills certificate.) Skills Certificates are not eligible for Financial Aid. 

To earn a skills certificate, students must:

  1. Maintain a minimum cumulative GPA of 2.0
  2. Have no financial or library obligation to the college
Certificate Requirement
ECE 204Principles of Child Guidance3
ECE 250Introduction to Early Childhood Education3
HDFS 201Lifespan Human Development3
Total Units9

Students completing the certificate will:

  • Identify and apply the knowledge and skills required to proceed to the skills certificate: early childhood educator 2, including general knowledge about the early childhood education profession, lifespan human development, and positive guidance of young children birth through age eight.
  • Identify and apply the knowledge and skills related to the six standards for the National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC).