Tuition and Fees
Fees, Tuition and Other Charges Subject to Change Without Further Notice
Fees and tuition are set by the Nevada System of Higher Education Board of Regents and are subject to change.
Notwithstanding currently posted tuition and fees; all fees, tuition, or other charges that students are required to pay each semester are subject to increase by action of the Board of Regents at any time before the commencement of classes (primarily due to budgetary shortfalls).
The amount charged at the time of registration is not a final bill and may be increased. You will receive a supplemental invoice for any additional amounts which the Board of Regents may impose. Fee changes put in place less than 30 days before commencement of classes will not be subject to late fee penalties.
Tuition and Fee Schedule
The following fees are in effect for the 2018 - 2019 school year. Note: Auditors pay the same per-unit fees.
|Summer Registration Fee||$101.75.00/unit|
|Application fee (non-refundable)||$20.00|
|Health and Sports Fee||$5.00/unit|
|Student Association Fee||$1.00/unit|
|Registration Fee - Lower Division (Fall and Spring)||$98.75/unit|
|Registration Fee - Upper Division (Fall and Spring)||$161.75/unit|
|Western Undergraduate Education (WUE) Students|
|Registration and Tuition - Lower Division (Fall and Spring)||$148.13/unit|
|Registration and Tuition - Upper Division (Fall and Spring)||$242.63/unit|
|Out-of-State Students in fewer than 7 Units|
|Registration Fee and Tuition - Lower Division (Fall and Spring)||$207.50/unit|
|Registration Fee and Tuition - Upper Division (Fall and Spring)||$339.75/unit|
|Out-of-State Students in 7 or more Units|
|Registration Fee - Lower Division (Fall and Spring)||$98.75/unit plus tuition|
|Registration Fee - Upper Division (Fall and Spring)||$161.75/unit plus tuition|
|Tuition (Fall and Spring)||$3,456.50/semester|
|Out-of-State Distance Education Students|
|Registration Fee - Lower Division (Fall and Spring)||$148.25/unit|
|Registration Fee - Upper Division (Fall and Spring)||$242.75/unit|
|Additional International Student Fee||$120.00/semester|
|Additional International Application Fee||$25.00 at time applying|
Books and Supplies: plan on spending an additional $300-$400.
Parking: at TMCC, parking is free.
Detailed Fee Information
$98.75 per unit (credit) for lower division, and $161.75 per unit (credit) for upper division, plus a $6.50 per unit (credit) technology fee, a $1 per unit (credit) student association fee, and a $5 health and sport fee. Except for early and priority registration, fees are generally due two days, after you register. Check the TMCC Dates and Deadlines Calendar for the early and priority registration fee payment deadline. Students are responsible for either paying for or dropping from each class in which they are registered. A student's enrollment may be canceled from all classes if payment is not received by the published deadline. Students remain responsible for charges on classes that they do not drop and no longer want to take. Fees are assessed on a per-unit (credit) basis. Audited classes cost the same as credit classes. TMCC Workforce Development classes are self-supporting, so charges vary accordingly.
Residency for Tuition Purposes
Pursuant to the passage of Senate Bill 32 (Chapter 374, Statutes of Nevada 2005), as of July 1, 2005, a financially independent student must be a bonafide resident of the State of Nevada for at least 12 months prior to matriculation to qualify for in-state tuition. Further, for a dependent student to qualify for in-state tuition, the student's family must be a Nevada resident. Please contact the Admissions and Records Office for further details.
Students classified as nonresident students taking seven or more units shall pay nonresident tuition ($3,456.50/semester) plus the per unit registration fees. Registration in Workforce Development and Community Education (WDCE) and Summer courses, which are not state-funded, shall not cause nonresident tuition to be assessed, nor shall enrollment in WDCE courses be included in date of matriculation for evaluation of residency. In conformity with Sections 10.020 and 396.540, in the Nevada Revised Statutes, students who register for courses with TMCC as Nevada residents must provide proof of residency. Residency requirements can be obtained from the Admissions and Records Office. The regulations for determining residency and tuition charges are described in the Board of Regents Handbook, Title 4, Chapter 15, Section 3 printed in Regulations for Determining Residency and Tuition Charges of this College Catalog.
A $20.00 one-time, non-refundable fee is charged to first-time TMCC students only. This fee is assessed when a student enrolls or attempts to enroll in to a class or course at TMCC. This fee cannot be refunded, even if the class or course is cancelled by the institution.
Health and Sport Fee
A $5.00 per unit fee shall be charged to all students effective fall 2018. This fee is to support the planning and construction of a Health and Sports facility and the operation of competitive athletic teams at Truckee Meadows Community College.
Student Association Fee
A $1.00 per unit fee shall be charged to all students effective as of fall 2017.
Excess Credit Fee
An Excess Credit Fee shall be charged to a student who has attempted credits equal to 150 percent of the credits required for the student’s program of study. The amount of this additional fee is equal to 50 percent of the per credit registration fee. Attempted credits include all graded courses on a student’s transcript, including but not limited to the grades of F and W (withdrawal) and repeated courses.
The fee will be charged, for example, after 90 credits have been attempted towards a 60-credit associate’s degree or 45 credits towards a 30-credit certificate program.
Exceptions may apply on a case-by-case basis. The fee will be charged in all terms after passing the threshold number of credits until a degree is awarded to the student. Appeal procedures and other exceptions to this fee are outlined in the TMCC College Catalog.
See Also: NSHE Excess Credit Fee Appeal form | Policies and Procedures: Tuition Charges, Definitions, Excess Credit Fee
Western Undergraduate Exchange (WUE)
The Western Undergraduate Exchange (WUE) is a program of the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE). Through WUE, students in western states may enroll in many two-year and four-year college programs at a reduced tuition level: 150 percent of the institution's regular resident tuition. To be eligible for WUE, students must be a resident of a WICHE State. Some colleges and universities have additional criteria. For further information about specific programs in WUE, contact the Admissions and Records Office.
Distance Education/Out-of-State Tuition
Students who physically reside outside the state of Nevada and who take online classes only may be eligible for a special distance education rate. To apply, students should submit the Request for Distance Education Special Tuition Rate form to the Admissions and Records Office.
Lab and Special Fees
Some classes have additional lab fees or costs for supplies; refer to the class schedule for details. These fees are added to the per-credit class fees.
Fees printed in the class schedule include the $6.50 per credit technology fee approved by the NSHE Board of Regents.
TMCC Fitness Center
Students attending TMCC or other NSHE institutions may purchase a semester TMCC Fitness Center pass from Accounting Services for $50 for the Spring/Fall Semester and $30 for the summer term. Day passes are also available for $5/day.
Fitness Center Refund policy: 100% during first week of purchase. After the first week, no refunds, no exceptions.
UNR Lombardi Recreation Center Fees
TMCC students enrolled in seven or more units may purchase a semester pass to the Lombardi Fitness Center at UNR. Please call the Lombardi Center at 775-784-1225 for more information.
Workforce Development and Community Education (WDCE) Course Fees
Registration fees for WDCE courses are variable to cover the cost of the instructor’s salary, supplies, equipment and overhead. Fees are payable in full at the time of registration. Please see TMCC's Workforce Development and Community Education program for more information.