Peace Officers Certification - Northern Nevada Law Enforcement Academy
The TMCC/Northern Nevada Law Enforcement Academy (NNLEA) is a cooperative program comprised of a coalition of Truckee Meadows Community College, Reno Police Department, Sparks Police Department and Washoe County Sheriff’s Office.
The TMCC/NNLEA is a certified Nevada Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) academy to provide basic Category I Nevada peace officer training.
There are a limited number of positions available for the academy with priority given to recruits being sponsored by local law enforcement agencies. All non-affiliated applicants must meet the following requirements prior to enrollment:
- Be academically eligible to enroll as a student at TMCC.
- Make formal application to TMCC.
- Submit to and pass a comprehensive background examination.
- Meet or exceed mandatory minimum Nevada P.O.S.T. fitness standards.
- Obtain medical clearance from a licensed physician.
- Submit to and pass a drug screening test (may include blood and/or hair.)
- Provide proof of medical insurance.
- Be at least 21 years of age by the time of acceptance.
- Receive acceptable scores on the ACCUPLACER test.
- Purchase required equipment (e.g., uniform, firearms, ammunition, etc.)
- Commit to attendance and participation requirements.
- Minimum P.O.S.T. Physical Fitness Standards (as of November 2013.)
- Complete a vertical jump of not less than 14 inches.
- Complete the agility run in not more than 19.5 seconds.
- Complete not less than 30 sit-ups in 1 minute.
- Complete not less than 23 push-ups no time limit.
- Run 300 meters in no more than 68 seconds.
- Walk or run 1.5 miles in not more than 16 minutes and 57 seconds.
All Nevada peace officers must pass the POST physical fitness test within 16 weeks of their initial date of hire.
Estimated Student Fees
NSHE rate for TMCC unit hours for Nevada residents:
Currently $90 per credit: $2700 + $10 application fee (Fees may change without prior notice)
Courses and Schedule
This 18-week (+/-) program includes classroom and practical instruction ranging from constitutional law, ethics, search and seizure, laws of arrest, weaponless defense, firearms and emergency vehicle operation. Graduates earn 30-college units during this academically and physically demanding academy.
The class schedule is based upon a 40-hour week, Monday through Friday 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.; however, there are occasional evening and weekend classes.